Greentrax Recordings
Greentrax Recordings

1986-2016: Celebrating 30 Years of sending Scottish Music Worldwide.

news article for Greentrax at the MG Alba Scots Trad Music Awards and Gala Concert 2011

Posted: 13th December 2011

Congratulations go to all Greentrax artists who won at the MG Alba Scots Trad Music Awards 2011.

The Awards took place at Perth Concert Hall on 3rd December, and included a Gala Concert and Festival Club. Winning an award at the glittering ceremony, hosted by Mary Ann Kennedy and Tony Kearney, is one of the biggest accolades on the traditional music scene.

Greentrax artists performing on the night included Barbara Dickson, Peatbog Faeries, The Paul McKenna Band, Rura, Salsa Celtica, Cathy Ann MacPhee, Alasdair Fraser and Natalie Haas.

Winning Greentrax artists were:

  • Siobhan Miller - Citty Finlayson Scots Singer Of The Year - Siobhan is a member of a duo with Jeana Leslie, and the pair have two albums to their credit on Greentrax. Siobhan is regarded as one of the best singers of her generation. She hails from Penicuik.
  • Rura - Up And Coming Artist Of The Year - Rura were signed by Greentrax early in 2011 and currently the six lads are recording their debut album. Outstanding instrumentalists, they have a young singer to match.
  • Norrie MacIver (of Bodega) - Gaelic Singer Of The Year - Norrie was a member of the young band Bodega who recorded two albums for Greentrax. Norrie sings in Gaelic and Scots.
  • Mairi Campbell (of The Cast) - Music Tutor Of The Year - Mairi is a member of The Cast, who are probably best known for their singing of Auld Land Syne in the film Sex And The City.

Greentrax artist nominations also included:

  • Steele The Show – The Songs of Davy Steele - Album Of The Year - a celebration of the life and songs of the late Davy Steele of Prestonpans. The idea came from Davy’s widow, Patsy Seddon, who is compiling a book of Davy’s own songs and suggested an album sung by friends. The album was recorded by Ian McCalman and includes singers Kate Rusby, Karine Polwart, Sally Barker, Patsy Seddon, Siobhan Miller, Andy M Stewart and Dick Gaughan. A concert of the same title was featured at Celtic Connections in January 2011, and was later included as a themed section in the Greentrax 25th Anniversary Concert.
  • Brian McNeill - Citty Finlayson Scots Singer Of The Year - Brian is best known for being a founder and long-time member of The Battlefield Band. Since leaving the band in 1991 he has recorded several albums for Greentrax and added singing/songwriting to his already mighty reputation as a multi-instrumentalist, as well as author and producer.
  • The Paul McKenna Band - Scottish Folk Band Of The Year - with two albums on Greentrax, this young band have previously won the Up And Coming Artist Of The Year award and currently the band is gaining a huge reputation on the European and North American touring circuits.
  • Calum MacCrimmon (of Seudan) - Composer Of The Year - Calum is a member of the piping group Seudan (pronounced Shaytan) whose album of the same title was released by Greentrax in September, to quite astonishing acclaim.

Our congratulations go to all these award winners (and nominees) and we wish them good luck for the future.

See the complete list of nominees and the list of winners.


We accept PayPal and all major credit and debit cards.

PayPal payments

Monthly Newsletter

enter your email address

You can easily unsubscribe using the link in any message.

New Releases


all titles listed by release date

full catalogue listed by category

view or download 2015 full colour catalogue pdf format, 2MB

view or download 2016 text catalogue pdf format, 292KB

Anxious to complete your album collections? We can now offer many deleted back catalogue titles again.

Latest News

see all news


visit Greentrax on Facebook